Space, the final frontier - science fiction

Science fiction books take place in the future, near or distant, and are based on scientific principles. 

Mary Shelley's Frankenstein is often considered to be the first science fiction novel. When Shelley wrote Frankenstein in 1818, she took much of her inspiration from the recent discovery of galvanism: the discovery that electricity can stimulate muscle contractions, even in dead animals.

In 1926, Hugo Gernsback launched a new magazine called Amazing Stories. In this editorial from the first issue of Amazing Stories, Gernsback explained that he wanted his new magazine to focus on “the scientific type of story” or “scientifiction defined as. “a charming romance intermingled with scientific fact and prophetic vision,” and he cited Jules Verne, H.G. Wells, and Edgar Allan Poe as the great luminaries of the genre.

The Hugo Award, named after Hugo  Gernsback, is the annual literary award for the best science fiction or fantasy works and achievements of the previous year, given at the World Science Fiction Convention and chosen by its members.

Brave New World

by Aldous Huxley

Childhood's End

by Arthur C. Clarke

The City We Became

by N.K. Jemisin

A Desolation Called Peace

by Arkady Martine

The Doors of Eden

by Adrian Tchaikovsky

Ender's Game

by Orson Scott Card

A History of What Comes Next

by Sylvain Neuvel

Hummingbird Salamander

by Jeff Vandermeer

Invisible Sun

by Charles Stross

The Kaiju Preservation Society

by John Scalzi

Klara And The Sun

by Kazuo Ishiguro

The Midnight Library

by Matt Haig

Parable Of The Sower

by Octavia Butler

Project Hail Mary

by Andy Weir

Ready Player One

by Ernest Cline

Shards Of Earth

by Adrian Tchaikovsky

Station Eleven

by Emily St John Mandel

Stranger in a Strange Land

by Robert Heinlein

To Sleep In A Sea Of Stars

by Christopher Paolini